Minutes of 8th State Expert Appraisal Committee (SEAC) meeting, Arunachal Pradesh held on 26th April 2024 at 1430 Hrs through VC <u>https://meet.google.com/ykb-sgbz-mnm</u>

The 8th meeting of the State Expert Appraisal Committee (SEAC), Arunachal Pradesh constituted by MOEF&CC, GOI was held on 26th April 2024 with the following members present at the meeting.

- 1. Sh. Sreeshan Raghavan, IFS(Retd) Chairman, SEAC, Arunachal Pradesh
- 2. Dr. Ashok Kumar Tripathi, Member, SEAC, Arunachal Pradesh
- 3. Dr. Rani Jha, Member, SEAC Arunachal Pradesh
- 4. Prof. B. Mohan Kumar, Member, SEAC Arunachal Pradesh
- 5. Dr. Govindarajalu Srinivasan, Member, SEAC Arunachal Pradesh
- 6. Dr. O.P. Tripathi, Member, SEAC Arunachal Pradesh
- 7. Sh. D. Dohu Robin, Dy Director Env. Member Secretary, SEAC Arunachal Pradesh

The following agenda points were discussed during the meeting.

Agenda 1: Diversion of 3.33 Ha. Forest land for drilling at Location KHAR in the Namphur Reserve Forest under Nampong Forest division, Arunachal Pradesh.

After detailed deliberations on the EDS submitted by OIL (project proponent), the committee recommended grant of EC for exploratory drilling at a single location (Khar) to the project proponent. The EC is subject to the following conditions

- a. Forest Clearance for the proposed exploratory project and approach road to the drilling site by the MoEF
- b. The project will be completed in a period of 180 days.
- c. The project proponent will carry out Baseline study of Air quality, Noise level and water quality parameters near the project site and habitations before start of the drilling, during and after the drilling phase and provide the data to the Dy Dir Environment, Govt. of Arunachal Pradesh.
- d. The project proponent will follow the proposed Exit Plan on completion of this project and submit a report to the Dy. Dir Environment, Govt of Arunachal Pradesh for acceptance.

Agenda 2: District Survey Report (DSR) for sand mining/river bed mining submitted for 2 Districts namely Papum Pare and Tawang for approval by Deptt. of Geology & Mines, Govt of Arunachal Pradesh.

The expert committee reviewed the revised District Survey Report (DSR) for Sand Mining/River-bed Mining for Papum Pare and Tawang, submitted by M/s SPPL Pvt Ltd. on behalf of the Department of Geology & Mining, Arunachal Pradesh. It has been noticed that despite detailed comments and suggestions made by the SEAC during its 7th meeting, the consultants have been unable to adequately address the raised concerns / issues in their revised DSRs for Papum Pare and Tawang district. The committee is of the opinion that the basic data on the yearly volumes of sand loss and replenishment in the consultant's report are insufficient

your finan your

c Ah.

lee_

to make long-term recommendations on potential mining sites. However, considering this as an initial step towards the implementation of more sustainable sand-mining practices in the State and to support the Department of Geology and Mining in its efforts in doing so, the committee approved the DSRs of both districts for a limited time period of one year. The extent of area to be allotted from the proposed identified sand excavation area in the two districts may be decided by the Department of Geology and Mines. The committee further recommends that the interim period be used for systematic data collection and analysis to demarcate/identify more precisely potential sand-mining zones in the two districts, ensuring better compliance with the Jan 2020 MoEF & CC Guidelines. Furthermore, any specific proposals for implementing sand/gravel mining in these two districts should follow the normal protocols, including obtaining environmental clearance before execution of mining.

Agenda-3: Discussion on Ferro Alloy Ltd units for obtaining Environmental Clearance (EC)

Dr. A.K Tripathy, the Expert Member Committee suggested that ferro alloys units with production capacity above 30 MTA shall be required to obtain prior Environmental Clearance (EC) as per EIA rules.

It was agreed to deliberate on the issue in the next meeting with some research work done on similar units and rules followed in other states as per the latest notification from MoEFCC, GoI.

The meeting ended with Vote of thanks to and from the chair.

Dr. Rani Jha Member SEAC

Sreeshan Raghavan Chairman, SEAC

Member SEAC

Dr. G. Srinivasan Member SEAC

Prof. B. Mohan Kumar Member SEAC

Dr. A. K Tripathy

Member SEAC

Dy. Director (Env)