81 st STATE EXPERT APPRAISAL COMMITTEE MEETING HELD ON 23.09.2016

81-0**2** F.5723 /2016 Proposed project for Construction of Series of 19 number of Groyens from Ennore to Ernavoorkuppam at Madhavaram Taluk, Tiruvallur District in Ambattur Water Resources Department, PWD, Govt of Tamilnadu – for CRZ Clearance–Reg.

The Proponent Water Resources Department, Public Works Department, Government of Tamilnadu, submitted application along with processing fees to SEIAA on 09.09.2016 for Proposed project for Construction of Series of 19 number of Groyens from Ennore to Ernavoorkuppam at Madhavaram Taluk, Tiruvallur District in Ambattur for further consideration for CRZ Clearance.

The project had been considered at TNCZMA on 19.05.2015 and recommended for CRZ Clearance vide Proc.No.P1/543/2015 dated 01.06.2015.

Based on Hon'ble NGT(SZ) orders dated 17th August 2016 in Application No.4 of 2013, this matter was listed before the EAC. The proposal was placed in the 162nd meeting of EAC (Expert Appraisal Committee) of MoEF & CC,GOI, on 30 August 2016 and the following was stated in the minutes:-

"The project was earlier considered by the EAC in its meeting held on 22-23 December 2015, wherein the Committee reiterated its stand as in case of similar proposal for Thoothukudi District, that the State Government should prepare an Integrated Shoreline Management Programme and then resubmit the proposal after recommendations by TNCZMA. The project proponent informed that tenders were invited for the proposed management plan as suggested by the Committee.

The EAC also observed overlapping of the proposals separately by two different divisions of the same dept of the State Govt, thus leading to avoidable confusion. Further, in view of the observations of the Honb'le NGT, the Committee opined that there has to be an integrated approach by the State Government for Shore management, suitably addressing the concerns, rather than piecemeal solutions in this regard. With the above observations the proposal was deferred.

While considering the proposal, the EAC took note of the amendment dated 28th November 2014 in the CRZ Notification 2011, which inter-alia provides that such proposals covered under para 4(i) of the CRZ Notification 2011 but not attracting the EIA Notification 2006, require CRZ Clearance from the SEIAA in the respective States, after, having been recommended by the concerned CZMA. The EAC was informed that the same stand has been taken by the MoEF & CC before the NGT (SZ) at Chennai in Application No.4 of 2013 in the matter of 'Shri O.Fernandes and C.H.Balamohan vs Union of India & others through an affidavit

filed by Shri Sundar Ramanathan, Scientist D in the Regional office of MoEF & CC at Chennai on 2nd August 2016.

The EAC felt that the same logic and Notification would apply to the present case also, and as such it may have no jurisdiction to handle this case unless directed to do so by the Ministry, in view of the full facts and circumstances of the case."

Thereby the proposal was placed in the 81st meeting of the SEAC, Tamilnadu held on 23.09.2016 after obtaining additional details vide SEIAA–TN letter dated 12.09.2016. After presentation and detailed discussion, the SEAC-TN noted that as per the amendment issued by MoEF&CC, GOI in the CRZ Notification 2011 dated 28th November 2014, the project shall be considered for CRZ Clearance from the SEIAA-TN. The SEAC further resolved to recommend the project to SEIAA for issue of CRZ Clearance subject to the Following conditions:-

- The CRZ clearance is issued subject to outcome of the Hon'ble NGT(\$Z)
 case at Chennai in Application No.4 of 2013 in the matter of 'Shri
 O.Fernandes and C.H.Balamohan vs Union of India & others.
- 2. To furnish copy of Integrated Shoreline Management Programme.
- 3. Revised Primary survey baseline data for water and other parameters.
- 4. Bathymetric study report to be furnished for the present conditions.
- 5. Recommendations of the TNSCZMA to be complied with.

S.No	Name	Designation	Signature
1	Dr. K. Thanasekaran	Member	Dew was
2	Dr.A.Navaneetha Gopalakrishnan	Member	
3	Dr.K.Valivittan	Member	" ,
4	Dr.Indumathi M. Nambi	Member	
5	Dr. G. S. Vijayalakshmi	Member	Brs. Vyrgolini
6	Dr. M. Jayaprakash	Member	month

7	Shri V. Sivasubramanian	Member	
8	Shri V. Shanmugasundaram	Member	Johngo Marana
9	Shri B. SugirtharajKoilpillai	Member	Repro
10	Shri P.Balamadheswaran	Co-opt Member	75/9/14
11	Shri. M.S. Jayaram	Co-opt Member	Jayarano.

Secretary SEAC

Chairman SEAC