F.No.IA3-1/1/2022-IA.III [E173584] Government of India Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (Impact Assessment Division)

Indira Paryavaran Bhawan Jor Bagh Road, Ali Ganj, New Delhi-3

11th July, 2022

ORDER

Sub: Re-Constitution of Expert Appraisal Committee (NCM) for Environmental Impact Assessment of projects requiring Environmental Clearance under the provisions of Environmental Impact Assessment Notification, 2006 – reg.

In pursuance of the Environmental Impact Assessment Notification S.O. No. 1533 (E) dated 14th September, 2006, the Government of India in the Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change hereby constitutes the Expert Appraisal Committee (EAC) (hereinafter referred as the Committee) for evaluation of projects relating to NCM sector received in the Ministry for grant of environmental clearances.

2. The composition of the Committee is as follows:

S. No.	Name & Organisation	Position
1.	Dr. Dinesh Misra, IFS (Retd) Plot No 65, Sector 8, Gandhinagar, Gujarat India, 382 008 dinesh_misra@yahoo.com.	Chairman
2.	Sh. Niranjan Kumar Vasu, IFS (Retd) 816, Shanti Nagar, Opposite Durgapur Railway Station, Jaipur-Rajasthan, India, 302018 vasuifs@gmail.com; vasunkam85@gmail.com	
3.	Dr. Asha Rajvanshi Scientist 'G' (Retd.), WII B/104/106 Rock Valley Apartments, GMS Road, Sewla Kalan, P.O. Majra, Dehradun, Uttarakhand-248171 asharajvanshi@gmail.com	Member
4.	Shri. Avijit Gosh (CMD- Heavy Engineering Corporation Limited)(Retd) Singhee Marg, A- 604 Shahadeo Tower, P.P. Compound, Ranchi 834001, Jharkhand avijitmining@gmail.com	Member

Sof.

S. No.	Name & Organisation	Position
5.	Shri. Bandi Ramchandra Reddy (CMD-South Eastern Coalfields Limited)- (Retd.) Flat No-503 A, Jyoti Cosmos, White Fields, Hi- Tech City, Kondapur, Hyderabad-500081 reddyramchandra8858@gmail.com	
6.	Prof. Pramod Kumar Professor Shri Aurobindo College, University of Delhi 1372, B-1, Vasant Kunj, New Delhi – 110070 nita_pramod@yahoo.com	Member
7.	Prof. Devesh Walia Professor Department of Environmental Studies, NEHU, Shillong-793022 Meghalaya wadevesh@gmail.com	Member
8.	Dr. Suresh Tiwari Scientist-F Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology, Pune, New Delhi Branch, Prof. Ram Nath Vij Marg Rajinder Nagar, New Delhi – 110060 smbtiwari@gmail.com& smbtiwari@tropmet.res.in	
9.	Dr. K.G Asha Manjari Professor, University of Mysore 10/B, "SPARSHA", 2nd Main, 2nd Cross, Bhogadi IInd Stage, Mysore-570026,Karnataka kimberlite2016@gmail.com	
10.	Prof. Dev Dutt Sharma Vice-Chancellor, Sardar Patel University, Mandi H.P. 175001 ddshpu@gmail.com; vicechancellorspu@gmail.com	Member
11.	Representative of India Meteorological Department.	Member
12.	Representative of Indian Bureau of Mines	Member
13.	Representative of Directorate General of Mines Safety	Member
14.	Director/Additional Director/Scientist E/F of NCM sector, IA division MoEF&CC, Indira Paryavaran Bhawan, New Delhi-110003	

- 3. The terms of reference (ToRs) of the above Committee shall be as follows:
 - (i) To scrutinize the proposals for determining Terms of Reference (ToR) for undertaking detailed EIA/EMP study and undertake site inspection (if required).
- (ii) To scrutinize the environmental impacts and examine the environmental management plans prepared and submitted by the project authorities as per the ToRs.



- (iii) To recommend clearance or reject of the project from environmental angle with reasons stated at scoping as well as appraisal stages.
- (iv) To suggest specific environmental safeguards and conditions to mitigate the adverse environmental impacts in respect of projects recommended for approval.
- 4. The committee shall adopt the following procedure for appraisal:
 - (i) The committee shall meet twice a month on fixed dates.
- (ii) The agenda for the meeting shall be circulated to all the members at least 15 days prior to the scheduled meeting by the Member Secretary.
- (iii) The proponent will undergo a preliminary scrutiny (Screening) by the concerned Impact Assessment Division and if found conforming to the statutory requirement will be placed before the Committee for appraisal on the first scheduled date of its meeting.
- (iv) The appraisal of the proposal should be completed ordinarily in single meeting and a specific recommendation to be made. In case the committee finds that additional information required for considering the proposal cannot be furnished by the project proponent in the meeting, then the proposal may be differed for the next meeting and shall be reconsidered based on submission of information on merits. Expert Appraisal Committee may recommend the project under the following four mutually exclusive categories:
 - (a) Recommended;
 - (b) Deferred (for consideration in the next or future meeting as may be specified in the committee's deliberations, after submission of required additional information to be further reviewed/examined by the Expert Appraisal Committee).
 - (c) Rejected (along with reasons for rejection).
 - (d) Returned to Project proponent in the present form.
- (v) Site visit as part of the appraisal may be undertaken where it is considered as necessary for reasons to be recorded by the committee, by a sub-group of the Committee consisting of not more than 3 members including one representative from MoEF&CC with the prior approval of the Ministry.
- (vi) Minutes of the meeting recorded shall be prepared and the recommendations finalized and approved by the Chairman before taking further necessary action.
- (vii) The chairperson may co-opt an expert as a Member for a particular meeting of the Committee.
- 5. Meeting of the Committee shall be held normally at Delhi but in exceptional cases, with the prior concurrence of the Ministry, these may be held elsewhere in the country.
- 6. Payment of TA/DA to the Chairman/members of the Committee for attending its meetings or site visits shall be governed as under:-
 - (i) Chairman is entitled for the reimbursement of the cost of Air travel by Executive Class by shortest route. All other members are entitled to travel by

Sol

Air in the Economy class by the shortest route subject to production of boarding passes for actual use of the facility.

- (ii) Payment of sitting fee of Rs. 6000/- per day with a ceiling of 10 days in a month for attending the aforesaid meeting by non official members will be as per instructions issued by DoE on the subject. It is further clarified that siting fee to salaried persons employed in Central University/UGC/Central Institutes/Institutions and autonomous bodies wholly or substantially funded by the Central Government shall not be paid.
- (iii) TA/DA to non-official members will be regulated as per SR 190 and shall be paid as per rules.
- (iv) Entitlement shall be restricted to actuals.
- (v) Relaxation for air journey, if any, will be as per instructions issued from time to time by the Ministry.
- (vi) Air tickets may be purchased directly from Airlines (website/booking counters/office or authorized travel agents viz. M/s Balmer Lawrie & Company Limited, M/s Ashok Travels & Tours and M/s IRCTC.
- (vii) No duplication in payment, and
- (viii) Payment shall be made through e-transfer only.
- 7. The tenure of the Committee shall be for a period of three years.
- 8 This issues with the concurrence of IFD vide dy. no. 173584 dated. 08.07.2022 and with the approval of the Competent Authority.

(Dr. Sujit Kumar Bajpayee)
Joint Secretary to the Government of India

To

- 1. The Chairman and Members of the Committee (NCM Member)
- 2. All the officers of IA Division

Copy for information to:

- 1. PS to MEF&CC
- 2. PS to MoS (EF&CC)
- 3. PPS to Secretary (EF&CC)
- 4. PPS to AS&FA
- 5. PPS to AS(TK)
- 6. PS to JS(SKB)
- 7. Guard file/website